Saturday, July 9, 2011

2005-06 Peterborough Petes Jordan Morrison Jersey

July by the Numbers returns to the Canadian Juniors once again for jersey #8.

The Peterborough Petes are the oldest continuously operating team in the Ontario Hockey League, having relocated from Kitchener, where they were founded in 1951 as the Greenshirts before being renamed the Canucks in 1954.

The Petes have won nine OHL championships, with their first coming in 1959 under the guidance of Hall of Fame coach Scotty Bowman. Another Hall of Famer took the reigns in 1966 when Roger Neilson became the coach of the Petes. Under his guidance, the Petes won the OHL championship in 1972 and made the finals again in 1973 and 1974.

In 1975 the club adopted their current color scheme of maroon and white for the first time after wearing red, white and blue from 1956 to 1974 to reflect their relationship with the Montreal Canadiens during their early days.

Future Washington Capitals coach Gary Green guided the Petes to OHL titles in 1978 and again in 1979. As OHL champions, the Petes advanced to the 1979 Memorial Cup tournament. After an opening loss to Trois-Rivieres, the Petes outlasted Brandon in a wild 7-6 overtime game. In their next game they avenged their first loss to Trois-Rivieres 3-2 only to lose to Brandon 3-2 in the final game of the round robin phase. With all three teams tied with 2-2 records, the Petes advanced to the final game against Brandon thanks to a superior goal differential over Trois-Rivieres. For the second time in three games, the Petes and Wheat Kings played a close game decided by a single goal, with Peterborough winning their only Memorial Cup title in overtime 2-1.

1978-79 Peterborough Petes
The 1978-79 Memorial Cup champion Peterborough Petes

With future Stanley Cup winner Mike Keenan at the helm, Peterborough completing the hat trick of OHL titles in 1980.

Future OHL championships came in 1989, 1993 and 1996 with the most recent one coming in 2006 to celebrate the club's 50th anniversary in Peterborough when they also set a club record with 99 regular season points.

Of all the current OHL clubs, the Petes have sent the most players to the NHL, including a group of future Hall of Famers Larry Murphy, Bob Gainey and Steve Yzerman.

Yzerman Petes
Steve Yzerman

Other notable Petes to have gone on to the NHL include Keith Acton, Tie Domi, John Garrett, Doug Jarvis, Andre Lacroix, Jamie Langenbrunner, Steve Larmer, Rick MacLeish, Barclay Plager, Chris Pronger, Craig Ramsay, Mickey Redmond, Mike Ricci, Eric Staal, Cory Stillman, Ron Tugnutt and Bryan Watson among many others who advanced to the NHL.

Pronger Petes
Chris Pronger

Today's featured jersey is a 2005-06 Peterborough Petes Jordan Morrison jersey worn during the Petes 50th Anniversary season when they set a club record for the most points in team history.

Peterborough Petes 05-06 jersey

No comments:

Post a Comment

We welcome and encourage genuine comments and corrections from our readers. Please no spam. It will not be approved and never seen.


hit counter for blogger