Friday, November 5, 2010

2005-06 Toronto Maple Leafs Mats Sundin Jersey

Today kicks off the 2010 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration, which will honor Dino Ciccarelli, Jim Devellano, Cammi Granato, Angela James and the late D. K. "Doc" Seaman.

The events take place over the course of four days, beginning today with the opening of the new "Spirit of Hockey" retail store, which is being relocated from it's lower concourse location to street level next to the Hall's historic bank building where the Stanley Cup is housed.

Additionally, the World of Hockey Zone has now expanded by taking over the old store's vacant space to grow to approximately 6,000 square feet, making it the Hall's largest dedicated exhibit area. New exhibits will feature the IIHF Hall of Fame and International Legends, Triple Gold Club and Top 100 Moments in international hockey.

Also on Friday, Hall of Famers Johnny Bower, Billy Smith and Peter Stastny will be signing copies of the Hockey Hall of Fame's two newest books, Hockey Hall of Fame Book of Goalies: Profiles, Memorabilia, Essays and Stats and Official Guide to the Players of the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Saturday kicks off with "keeper of the cup" Phil Pritchard presenting behind-the-scenes stories and photos of the Stanley Cup's journeys at 11 AM and 2 PM. Following the 11 AM presentation, Pritchard and Maple Leaf legend Ron Ellis will sign copies of Travels with Stanley. After the 2 PM presentation, Pritchard and Hall of Famer Scotty Bowman will sign Travels with Stanley.

The Women's Hockey Fan Forum will feature a question and answer session at 3:30 PM with Olympic gold medalists Lori Dupuis and Vicky Sunohara of Canada and Chris Bailey of the United States.

At 7 PM that evening the host Toronto Maple Leafs take on the Buffalo Sabres at the Air Canada Centre in the annual Hockey Hall of Fame Game, where both teams will wear a special commemorative patch to mark the occasion.

Sunday, November 7th sees a limited edition print giveaway for every guest of the Hall of Fame, with the first 500 being autographed by the 2010 inductees.


Those same inductees will be on hand to participate in the 2010 Inductee Fan Forum at 11:30 AM for an hour long question and answer session.

The festivities then move back to the Air Canada Centre for the Hockey Hall of Fame Legends Classic in which the "Canada Legends" take on the "USA Legends" game, which will feature Glenn Anderson, Dino Ciccarelli, Paul Coffey, Michel Goulet, Angela James, Lanny McDonald, Steve Shutt, Darryl Sittler, Bill Smith, Peter Stastny, Brian Bellows, Wendel Clark, Lori Dupuis, Ray Ferraro, Gary Leeman, Claude Lemeiux and Rick Vaive for Canada taking on Cammi Granato, Rod Langway, Bryan Trottier, Chris Bailey, Bobby Carpenter, Dave Ellett, Tom Fergus, Tony Granato, Phil Housley, Al Iafrate, Pat Jablonski, Grant Ledyard, Shelley Looney, Sue Merz, Chris Nilan and Joel Otto for the USA.

Then on Monday the Hall of Fame will close for the induction ceremony, with the Gala Celebration beginning at 5:50 and the Induction Ceremony itself at 7:30, which will be broadcast live on TSN2 and the NHL Network in both the US and Canada.

Today's featured jersey is a 2005-06 Toronto Maple Leafs Mats Sundin jersey. This jersey features the Hockey Hall of Fame Game patch as worn on the jerseys of the participating teams each year during the annual Hockey Hall of Fame Game, which began back in 1999.

Aside from the host Maple Leafs, other teams to have worn the patch, which is unique each year as it carries the date of the game, include the New York Rangers (1999), the Chicago BlackHawks (2000), the New Jersey Devils (2001), the Montreal Canadiens (2002), the Philadelphia Flyers (2003), the Tampa Bay Lightning (2005), the Montreal Canadiens (2006), the New York Rangers (2007), the Montreal Canadiens (2008) chosen again as part of their centennial celebration, and the Detroit Red Wings (2009).

Toronto Maple Leafs 05-06 HOF F
Toronto Maple Leafs 05-06 HOF B
Toronto Maple Leafs 05-06 HOF P

Today's video segment begins with a look at the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Here are last year's inductees being introduced prior to the Hall of Fame Game last season.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We welcome and encourage genuine comments and corrections from our readers. Please no spam. It will not be approved and never seen.


hit counter for blogger