Monday, November 9, 2015

The 2015 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Tonight is the 2015 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony for this year's inductees, Sergei Fedorov, Phil Housely, Nicklas Lidstrom, Chris Pronger and Angela Rugiero. Also going into the hall tonight will be Bill Hay and Peter Karmanos Jr., both in the builder category.

Here then is our tribute to the Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2015.

Detroit Red Wings 1992-93 jersey photo Detroit Red Wings 1992-93 F jersey_1.jpg
Detroit Red Wings 1992-93 B jersey_2 photo Detroit Red Wings 1992-93 B jersey_2_1.jpg
1992-93 Detroit Red Wings Sergei Fedorov Jersey
1997, 1998 and 2002 Stanley Cup Champion
19994 Hart Trophy
1994 Pearson Award
1994 and 1996 Selke Trophy
Holds the record for Most Career Overtime Points
First European Trained Hart Trophy Winner
First Russian with 1,000 NHL Points
Holds the record for Most Goals by a Russian-born NHL Player (483)
1989 World Junior Gold Medal
1989, 1990 and 2008 World Championship Gold Medal
2010 World Championship Silver Medal
1998 Olympic Silver Medal
2002 Olympic Bronze Medal
Six time NHL All-Star


 photo Buffalo Sabres 1989-90 F jersey.jpg
Buffalo Sabres 1989-90 jersey photo Buffalo Sabres 1989-90 B jersey.jpg
1989-90 Buffalo Sabres Phil Housley Jersey
1998 Stanley Cup Finalist
1996 World Cup of Hockey Champion
Played in 6 World Championships and 2 Canada Cups for the United States
Member of the United States Hockey Hall of Fame (2004)
Retired as the record holder for Most Career Points by an American Player (1,232)
Currently ranks second all-time and first among defensemen
Retired as the record holder for Most Games by an American Player (1,495)
Currently ranks third all-time

Went directly from high school hockey to the NHL
and never played a game in the minors

Seven time NHL All-Star


 photo Detroit Red Wings 1997-98 F jersey_1.jpg
Detroit Red Wings 1997-98 jersey photo Detroit Red Wings 1997-98 B jersey_1.jpg
1997-98 Detroit Red Wings Nicklas Lidström Jersey
1997, 1998, 2002 and 2008 Stanley Cup Champion
2001, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2011 Norris Trophy
2002 Conn Smythe Trophy
2006 Olympic Gold Medal
1991 World Championship Gold Medal
2004 World Championship Silver Medal
1994 World Championship Bronze Medal
Triple Gold Club Member
Member of the IIHF Hall of Fame (2014)
First European Norris Trophy and Conn Smythe Trophy winner
First European-trained captain of a Stanley Cup winner
First European-born and trained defenseman with 1,000 NHL career points
Holds NHL record for Most Games Played by a European-born Player (1,564)
Holds Detroit Red Wings records for Most Career Goals (264), Assists (878), Points (1,142) and Games Played  (1,564) by a Defenseman and Best Career Plus/Minus (+450)
Jersey #5 Retired by Detroit on March 6, 2014
12 time NHL All-Star


Hartford Whalers 1993-94 jersey photo Hartford Whalers 1993-94 F jersey.jpg
Hartford Whalers 1993-94 jersey photo Hartford Whalers 1993-94 B jersey.jpg
1993-94 Hartford Whalers Chris Pronger Jersey
2007 Stanley Cup Champion
2000 Hart Trophy
2000 Norris Trophy
2002 and 2010 Olympic Gold Medal
1993 World Junior Gold Medal
1997 World Championship Gold Medal
Member of the Triple Gold Club
Led NHL in Plus/Minus in 1998 (+47) and 2000 (+52)
Six Time NHL All-Star


Angela Ruggiero won a gold medal at the 1998 Olympics as the youngest member of the team. She also won a silver medal at the 2002 and 2010 Olympics and a bronze at the 2006 Olympics  while being named Top Defenseman in 2002 and 2006. She was the Kazmaier Award winner as the top player in NCAA Women's Hockey in 2004, won a national championship with Harvard in 1999 and was a four time NCAA All-American. She won World Championship gold in 2005 (where she scored the championship winning goal in a shootout), 2008, 2009 and 2011 as well as six silver medals  while being named Top Defenseman four times. She holds the record for Most Career Games for the United States (256) and was named Player of the Year in 2003 and 2004. She will be inducted into the United States Hockey Hall of Fame later this year.

Bill Hay played eight NHL seasons for the Chicago Blackhawks beginning in 1959-60. That season he was named the Calder Trophy winner and played in the 1960 NHL All-Star Game. He also appeared in the 1961 All-Star Game and, playing on a line with Bobby Hull and Stan Mikita, won the 1961 Stanley Cup. He is being inducted in the Builder category for his post-playing career work as President and CEO of the Calgary Flames, President and COO of Hockey Canada and was on the Hockey Hall of Fame's Board of Directors and served at the Hall's Chairman and CEO for 15 years.

Peter Karmanos Jr. founded the Compuware Hockey organization, which fielded teams from Junior "A" down to recreational hockey. Program graduates include Pat Lafontaine, Mike Modano, Eric Lindros and Kevin Hatcher. His Detroit Compuware Ambassadors became the first Ontario Hockey League team outside of Ontario. The team is currently known as the Plymouth Whalers. He also is the owner of the Florida Everblades of the ECHL. Karmonos purchased the Hartford Whalers in 1994 and moved the club to Raleigh, North Carolina in 1997. The team was renamed the Carolina Hurricanes and won the Stanley Cup in 2006. In 1998, Karmonos was named the recipient of the Lester Patrick Award for Outstanding Service to Hockey in the United States.

The 2015 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be broadcast on the NHL Network in the United States starting at 7:00 PM Eastern time and on TSN 4 in Canada at 8:00 PM Eastern tonight.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We welcome and encourage genuine comments and corrections from our readers. Please no spam. It will not be approved and never seen.


hit counter for blogger